Dancing In the Kitchen

Warning. Sappy moment ahead. Well, not so much sappy, but somewhat emotional and cheesy…alright, sappy.

The past few weeks have been terribly busy and in turn, I’ve been overwhelmed, stressed, and a tad frustrated. I’ve been working all day, every day, and wishing for slower, easier months in the future. One of my annoying habits is looking too far ahead, planning too far ahead, and wishing for things too far ahead. I make countdowns frequently. I plan out vacations that are months, sometimes years away. I like looking ahead, and while it’s seems helpful to me to plan, it can occasionally make me miss out on the things that are happening in the present. That country song “You’re Gonna Miss This” makes me try to slow down every time I hear it. (P.S. I vow to rarely reference country music as reliable sources of life lessons.) This is the chorus:

You’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days
Hadn’t gone by so fast
These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Listen to the whole song if you haven’t heard it. It convicts me. Haha.

Tonight, I made dinner and Andrew helped me. Or at least he watched and pretended to learn how to make his favorite meal I make for him – cream of chicken & rice. :) I had Pandora playing while I/we cooked, and one of my favorite Iron & Wine songs came on. Andrew took my hand and started dancing with me. I smiled, closed my eyes, and put my head on his shoulder till the song ended. I breathed in the moment and took a mental picture. As much as I long for the days when we get a house, a dog, and eventually kids (far, far, far, far away; don’t call me freaked out, Mom), it was nice to just be newlyweds dancing in the kitchen. I paused and thanked the Lord for where we are right now. I know that when I’m older, I’m going to remember tonight and miss that moment. Our life is beautiful.

Sappy moment over. :)

~Cait

One thought on “Dancing In the Kitchen

  1. I love this post. And that song. That story isn’t sappy. It’s sweet! SO sweet. My eyes welled up a bit! I’m a softy. Haha

Leave a Comment

