The Day We Shot Arrows

Confession. I’ve been in a bit of a funk since my birthday. [And since reading the entire Hunger Games series in three days. I loooooved it.] This funk, I believe, was brought on by me turning another year older, and evaluating how much I’ve accomplished in 22 years. It was a very weird few days of moody blues when it started, and quite frankly, I hated it. I kept regretting not doing this, not doing that, never taking this class, or never pursuing that dream. Suddenly, I wanted to write books, be in movies, travel the world, and other such ludicrous dreams I used to dream. I had a sudden fear that my life was moving too fast, and I didn’t have enough time to accomplish everything on my bucket list.

A good thing, however, that’s come of my absurd “third-of-life crisis” as I like to call it (I know…Brad already told me that means I’d only live to be 66. Lol.) is that I’ve been longing to be more spontaneous and try new things. If you know me very well, you know I’m very comfortable in my routine, comfortable in things that are reliable and steady. Lately, however, I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to make every minute mean something. It’s a little exhausting, but I’ve enjoyed it. ;)

Yesterday, Brad and Mom and I went to the archery range at Heartland. And it was awesome. I’m anxious to try the gun range too, but in the light of the popular Hunger Games, archery seemed fitting to try first. :)

All the pros pose like this. Really.

Mom’s pretty hard core. Don’t get on her bad side.

Brad made farting jokes the whole night. Don’t ask.

And enjoy this little iPhone movie courtesy of Mama Ulrich.

Oh and seize the day. And all that jazz. ;-P

~Cait

Leave a Comment

