The Last Time

I’m sitting on my trusty computer at 7:00 in the morning…at my desk in our two-bedroom apartment. For the last time. In a few hours, the in-laws will be here with a moving truck and people will help us unload approximately 278 boxes out of our home. I may be slightly exaggerating. The boxes will disappear. The couch and beds will be stored. The plates will hopefully stay in tact inside their carefully-packaged bubble wrap. The trucks will make trips back and forth, the people will be exhausted and sweaty, and the apartment will be empty by the end of the day. Andrew and I will be staying at my parents’ house tonight and the next few days, bewildered by the events of the week.

And I’m sitting here trying to brace myself for what’s about to happen. I’ve mentioned previously that I’ve recently hit a “third-of-life crisis,” which several people have informed me is more accurately a fourth-of-life crisis, as I’m only 22. But a third-of-life crisis sounds funnier, and I don’t really care to think about being that old. :-p I’m trying to hang on to the past year and remember every little detail of what’s happened, because while it has definitely been the best year of my life, it’s also been the fastest…by a long shot.

I remember visiting our apartment complex for the first time with Andrew and touring their model version. There was a sailboat on an armoire in the living room, and I knew we had to live here. Nautical. I love all things nautical.

I remember the first time we heard our neighbors yelling outside at 2 in the morning. That was an adventure. They were outside cursing, yelling, definitely drinking, and in a few minutes, being questioned by the police. We were upstairs watching 101 Dalmatians and peering through the window with wide, naïve eyes. I remember the short dance party we had when they moved out.

I also remember crying when the cranky old man moved in to replace them and accused me of harboring a 300-pound immigrant in our apartment. Good times. His yapping chihuahua is staying here with him and for that, I’ve never been more grateful to be leaving. ;)

There was the time Andrew brought me home a cherry coke, just because, and we watched episodes of Frasier and Everybody Loves Raymond. I’m fairly certain Ray Barone is my favorite fictional character of all time.

And another time when I came home from shooting a long wedding, and Andrew had put a sticky note on the door that said “Longhorn?” with a smiley face underneath it. I walked in to find a Longhorn salad and a super handsome dude at the kitchen table.

I remember having our friends over for a Christmas party and wearing tacky sweaters and taking lots of pictures. And eating lots of fudge.

I remember falling to the floor crying after realizing how much weight I’d gained since our wedding, and I remember jumping up and down with excitement when the numbers showed me I’d lost ten pounds. I don’t know if I’ve ever been prouder of myself. I remember eating cookie cake after that. Let’s be honest. I remember eating lots of cookie cake over the last few weeks. ;)

Another day, I started writing a book here. It’s yet to be finished, but Andrew is a fabulous editor. I’m on Chapter 12.

There was the moment I opened my birthday card from my grandma and slid to the ground in tears because this time it said “Love, Mimi” instead of “Love, Mimi and Pa.”

There was the time we stayed up late watching movies and talking about getting a house and a dog. I made Andrew watch countless YouTube videos of baby German shepherds.

One time after a long, annoying day of editing and being busy, Andrew helped me cook dinner – or at least pretended to – and grabbed my hand and started dancing with me in the kitchen. I laid my head on his shoulder and thanked God for where we were and knew I’d miss it someday. I didn’t know just how soon I would miss that night.

I’m beyond excited for this next chapter. I have a feeling it’s going to be one my very favorites. But truthfully, I’m scared to death of growing older and things passing as quickly as they have the past 12 months. How do you hang on to moments and make life slow down? Let me in on the secret.

 And wish us luck today and keep us in your prayers the next two weeks. :) Things are going to be different, but I think we’re ready. God is so very good to us.

~Cait

3 thoughts on “The Last Time

  1. I love this post. I’m ready to make some memories with you in your new place! Also, in psychology we call the crisis you’re having (lol) a quarter-life crisis, which I’m pretty sure you’ll be out of real soon! I can relate because I’ve been having a bit of one too, but I think I’m out of it now. At least you know what you want to do with your life and know who you want to share it with, which is MUCH more than most people can say in their early 20’s. You should just focus on enjoying the amazing parts about growing up instead of wanting so badly to stop it. I think it’s scary too, but there’s no rule book that says getting older means you can’t still be silly and have adventures, right?? You have such a fabulous life and I’m sure you’ll learn to enjoy responsibility (at least a little bit) and the perks of being on the way to adulthood. You are so amazing and I know you’ll only get more fantastic as time goes on. Love you so much, my dear. <3

  2. You remind me so much of Jim and me and now Ashley and Dan. I am so glad you are learning to treasure the moments. The early days of a marriage can be so precious but trust me, it will get even better if you can believe that. You guys are on the right track. Live each day with no regret, be kind to each other and trust God, even when life throws its curves, God is always there. Even after a tough last few years I can tell you God was there and I have no regrets! Becky

  3. @lomonette – I loves you, and I can’t wait for you to see the new place!! :) I miss you and can’t wait to see your pretty face!

    @Becky Johnson – Your comment made me tear up! Thank you so much. :) You are just precious and so inspiring!! Thank you for your encouraging words!

Leave a Comment

