On the Tired Days

On days like today, when things all seem amiss…

I remember I have a puppy that looks like this.

On days like today, when I’m weary of Jack’s whines…

I try to remember that the sun still shines.

On days like today, when all I want to do is sleep…

I remember how sweet Hubs is, always taking me out to eat. (…Baked potato soup in a bread bowl from Panera. I KNOW SO DIVINE…)

On days like today, when I’m getting nothing done at all…

I look at puppy’s ears and marvel that he’s getting so tall.

On days like today, when Jack is getting into trouble…

I remember what it’s like when he finally lays down to snuggle.

On days like today, when I feel like running away…

I remember my best friend being hilarious at Hideaway.

On days like today, when my brain’s just not all there…

I remember just yesterday, both my Mamas took me to the fair. (I LOVE THE PETTING ZOO.)

And on days like today, when my diet’s feeling rough…

I remember we ate these, so I’ve probably had enough.

On days like today, when I’d rather be outside…

I remember my little family, and I’m thankful to be alive.

I’m tired. Nay, I’m exhausted. I’m relishing every minute that Pups is asleep. He’s been a trouble maker this week. I need a whole cookie cake and a dollop of encouragement immediately.

Reminding myself of the good things is how I get from day to day…and I also keep telling myself Christmas will be here soon. ;) Sigh.

~Cait

Leave a Comment

