Do Not Be Anxious

It’s been a pretty rough week in the Boswell household. I like to think I can be honest here and tell you that it’s been rough, because I know you sweet, precious people will pray for us. I never want to give the impression that our lives are perfect here. We are outrageously blessed, and I am inherently a happy go-lucky person which leads me to sharing happy things, but our lives are not perfect. We have had a week of mishaps, unexpected concerns, worries, doggie diarrhea, and more than anything in myself – anxiety.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” -Philippians 4:6

I know that verse by heart. I’ve read it a thousand times. I wrote it in cheesy, bubble letters on a notecard when I was a teenager and hung it on the walls of my bedroom. I’m familiar with it. And yet, it is brand new to me this week. I’ve never had much trouble with worry…probably because I’ve never had anything too serious to worry about, and for that, I’m thankful. I’ve also been raised by a woman who is literally the queen of being laid back and trusting the Lord, and that’s had an impact on how I view things that go wrong. I’m big into “everything happens for a reason.” This week’s trials have jolted me into a new sense of presenting my requests to God with thanksgiving. How fitting that my devotional “One Thousand Gifts” has been encouraging me to count the gifts God pours on me. They are innumerably overwhelming. My heart lets go of anxiety more easily when I dwell on all the good God has given me.

Send a few prayers our way if you think of it. We’re in no real trouble, and I’m sure this post sounds more dramatic than I want it to. Lol. We’ve just had a hard week and would love the prayers. :) God is good.

Love you all!

~Cait

One thought on “Do Not Be Anxious

  1. Honesty is good! It was touching how you referred to your mother and made me think about the impressions I am leaving. I know it wasn’t the point you were making, but it was good for me :)

Leave a Comment

