Hawaii – Part I

Andrew & I are feeling extraordinarily blessed these days. We had SUCH a fabulous time in Hawaii, and we could not have had more perfect timing for a vacation. God is so. very. good.

I took 2000 photos and kept about half of those, but don’t worry – I won’t show you all of them. ;) Let’s start with a few things I learned while in Hawaii…

1. Kauai (the island we stayed on), hands down, has the most beautiful views I’ve ever seen, and 75% of them can only be seen from the air. Much of the island is inaccessible on foot, so we took an airplane ride to get views like these.

hawaii01

Recognize that river from Raiders of the Lost Ark?

hawaii02

hawaii09

They played the Jurassic Park theme song when we flew over the falls, and I’m reluctant to admit I got nerd goosebumps. 

hawaii03

Andrew was really excited about getting to wear a headset. :)

hawaii04

hawaii05

2. Across the ocean right now is a group of adorable Hawaiian people making pancakes the size of my face in a place called Kountry Kitchen. And they’re making the best pancakes ever. We did some research and found Kountry Kitchen online before we left, but I had no idea that they were going to have GIANT chocolate chip pancakes. One of the most delightful surprises of my life. ;)

hawaii06

hawaii07

hawaii08

3. If I could only look at one view for the rest of my life, it would be the Na Pali Coast.

hawaii10

hawaii11

4. I really loathe roosters. They are everywhere, and I don’t like them. They made for interesting photos though. 

hawaii12

hawaii13

5. Back in the day, Hawaiian royalty was buried in the nooks and crannies of the cliffs of Na Pali Coast when they died. The slaves that buried their bones would then jump off the cliffs so the secret would die with them and no one would find their royal bones. Freaky, right?! On our last full day, the whole family took a raft tour by the Na Pali Coast and soaked in pretty views like these. :) 

hawaii14

hawaii15

hawaii16

You can see the crazy huge Facebook album by clicking here, but I’ll be blogging some more this week. :)

Happy Monday!

~Cait

One thought on “Hawaii – Part I

  1. Hi Cait, such a lovely holiday that you spend with the loved ones :) By the way, i love all your photos. It captured every sweet moment and seems like i can feel it from here. Keep up the good work! :D

Leave a Comment

