Slow Dance

Last night, Andrew and I went on a long walk around the neighborhood. It’s become one of our favorite hobbies and lets us catch up a bit when he comes home from work. We watched the sky change colors as the sun set, and we talked each other’s ears off. We joked, we laughed, and we dreamed about the future. When we got back to the house, Andrew put on my favorite Elvis Presley song and pulled me in for another dance in the kitchen. We’ve danced in each home we’ve lived in, and my heart desperately needs those occasional slow dances.

My eyes scan around me, and our little life feels so incredibly full. Our cute little kitchen hutch with pretty plates, our happy pictures on the walls, a cozy couch where we’ve watched many an Everybody Loves Raymond episode…I thank the Lord for every inch and every blessing. I’m challenged to stop and remember more often how very fortunate we are.

I try to freeze moments in my mind sometimes. I attempt to slow time down and pretend it’s not flying right by me. It’s good to take time out of the crazy to pause and just be thankful. God is so good to us.

sunset

~Cait

2 thoughts on “Slow Dance

  1. Not sure how I found your blog, but I’ve been casually following you for a while. Thank you for sharing. How important it is to treasure up the precious moments around us and to give our great God the glory for them. – from another wife who treasures her husband and her dog

Leave a Comment

