In Sickness and In Health

My heart is heavy today but resting in God’s love. My sweet Aunt Susan went to be with Jesus yesterday morning. Please keep my Uncle Tom and their amazing kids in your prayers, as well as my whole family. Susan battled cancer with stronger faith than most, and while I am so thankful that she is no longer in any pain, I can’t help but be sad that something so terrible had to happen to such a wonderful family. She was one of the funniest, most genuine people I’ve ever known.

25635_1278335565425_4428374_n

Four years ago yesterday, my Andrew kneeled by a bench with yellow roses and asked me to marry him. Last night, he came home with yellow roses to celebrate that anniversary and to help cheer me up. I’ve been fighting a cold and feeling fairly miserable the past few days, and he’s been taking such good care of me. I kept thinking of our vows…in sickness and in health. My heart aches for my Uncle Tom, who kept those vows to Susan to the very end, loving and supporting her through every obstacle. I am so inspired by his faith during such a difficult trial.

roses2

roses

I often wonder how people who don’t believe in God deal with sorrow and death. It’s hard enough when you do believe in God and know your loved ones are in Heaven. Our hope in Christ is the only reliable stronghold.

“For the Lord himself will come down from heaven with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. Therefore, encourage one another with these words.” -1 Thessalonians 4:16-18-

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” -2 Corinthians 4:17-18-

Please continue to keep Tom and the family in your prayers. I’m so thankful God hears us and surrounds us with love.

~Cait

One thought on “In Sickness and In Health

Leave a Comment

