The World

I was raised in a Christian home by two extraordinary people devoted to Jesus. I find myself thanking God constantly for the family he placed me in and the effect it has made on my life. My morals and values are steady and so precious to me, but unfortunately, they are frequently tossed aside by the world.

The world. It scares me half to death. It’s full of trash, of tragedy, of filth, of despair. I sometimes look around and wonder how on earth Christ hasn’t come back yet. Can it get much worse? I’ve always been the kind of person who avoids bad news and bad things. I can’t even handle watching movies with sad endings. I shudder when a news station reveals another horrifying thing that’s happened somewhere around the globe. I’m guilty of trying to distance myself from sad news and filth – not being naive to it, but not letting it take over and torment my mind.

Yesterday, I watched a movie trailer for a movie I knew next to nothing about. By the end of it, my stomach was in pain from how much it disgusted me. I wanted to vomit directly on every person responsible for creating such a piece of trash. (I realize that’s a bit dramatic, forgive me. Lol.) It seems that every time a new movie comes out now, I cringe. I am sickened by so many things they show on TV, and my heart aches for a world that so desperately needs Jesus! I’ve often been called naive, sheltered, even a goody two-shoes for being saddened by things that are so common in the world now, but RUBBISH. Common things are not always right things.

I hold fast to Jesus Christ because he is hope in a world that is lost. The news brings me sad stories from all over the world of people hurting, and it seems there is little I can do but pray. I read verses on heaven that talk about no more violence, no more tears, no more sin…how I long for such a place! It keeps me going on days like today, when I am overwhelmed with sadness at the state of the world.

It’s easy to become apathetic. I’ve sung that song for quite some time, trying to escape the madness, but Christ calls me to remember that He that is in me is greater than he that is in the world. My small and seemingly insignificant self can still proclaim Christ in a world that’s rejecting Him. My mouth can speak wholesome and God-honoring things, my decisions can reflect wise choices, and my life can point others, even if only a few, to Jesus. I am called to speak truth, to show love and compassion, and to live a life that is pleasing to God.

There’s a fine line between living to please God and coming off as a judgmental Christian. I pray none of you would ever think the latter of me. [If you do, please come over for pancakes so I can change your mind. ;) ]

“Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” -Matthew 5:16-

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – His good, pleasing, and perfect will.” -Romans 12:2-

“Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” -John 13:34-35

“Dear friends, I urge you as aliens and strangers to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father on the day He visits us.” -1 Peter 2:11-12-

Come back soon, Lord Jesus.

Leave a Comment

