Rest

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” -Matthew 11:28-

Today, folks… I’m tired. I’ve been super terrible at blogging the past month, and I’ll probably be terribly inconsistent for another month or so. We’ve had a crazy month full of almost every emotion that exists I think. We’ve had hospital visits for close family, late nights of work, crazy weather and rescheduled shoots, and heaps of unexpected stress. We’re doing just fine – we’re just counting down the days till we’re eating mashed potatoes and turkey all day. ;) In the midst of the chaos, God has brought us little moments of rest to keep us going.

God brings rest through a sweet email from a faraway friend telling me she’s praying for me, and through text messages from precious people just making sure I’m doing okay.

He sends rest through phone calls with my Mama, lunches with the in-laws, and late night movie premiers with family.

He brings rest in food and fellowship with some of our best friends in the world.

rest01

rest02

rest03

rest08

He sends rest through precious grandparents that remind us how blessed we are.

rest10

He brings rest through my sweet baby sister surprising me with an IHOP breakfast just because she knew I was feeling blah.

rest06

rest05

rest07

When my husband empties the dishwasher and does a load of laundry because he knows I’m going crazy not having time to clean, I know it’s the Lord sending me some rest through Andrew.

And through this pooch, who lays by my feet while I edit until 2:00 in the morning and crawls into bed with me to snuggle when I’m exhausted.

rest09

I love them dearly.

rest04

SO if you’re exhausted and November’s been a little rude to you too, know that God is sending you rest and carrying your burdens. :)

“Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Our God is a God who saves.” -Psalm 68:19-20

And if you think of it, send up a prayer or two for us and our sweet families. We’re all just fine; we’re just exhausted and could use a long winter’s nap. ;) I’m so thankful for a Lord who watches over us when we are weary. Have a happy Monday, loves. :)

~Cait

2 thoughts on “Rest

Leave a Comment

