Lexi Girl

Truth be told, yesterday was pretty sucky.

After a sad heap of health issues and vet visits and tears, we had to say goodbye to this beautiful babe.

LJ12

It was really, really rough, and I’m already missing the mooching face.

4th-12

One of my all-time favorite childhood memories was the day we brought Lexi home. We were on our way home from church when Dad spotted someone selling a bunch of adorable golden retriever puppies. He pulled over and shocked us all when he said we could take one home. (The bewildered face Mom made is forever ingrained in my brain.) Dad claims to have not the slightest care in the world for animals, but he totally has a soft spot for golden retrievers. We brought her home, and she quickly became known as the happiest and hungriest dog alive.

fb4

Lexi brought me through junior high and high school and was the first to confront me about my picture-taking addiction.

fb2

She endured much half-hearted scolding and fought back with puppy eyes.

fb6

In her mid-life crisis years, she took up modeling.

fb3

She also was rumored to have invented the selfie.

fb

fb5

Her great passion was food.

fb14

fb15

fb16

The only thing Lexi loved more than food was people.

fb11

rather08

fb13

fb12

easter23

C099

Later in life, she took a young German shepherd under her wise wing and tried to teach him the benefits of lying down and sitting still.

IMG_4525

He was a rebellious student, but she managed to teach him a few things.

fb8

fb7

They became good friends. And even better party animals.

fb10

jack006

LJ09

LJ06

Lexi let me cry on her shoulder when my first boyfriend broke up with me. She stayed in my room with me when I dared to watch the Sixth Sense alone. And I knew I could always count on her to embrace a good afternoon nap.

fb9

My heart is so sad that she won’t be around to teach Jack some more manners, but I’m so thankful for the 11 and a half years she spent with our family! If there were a prize for world’s most amiable dog, she would have won the gold.

IMG_3130

IMG_3135b

Sweet dreams, Lexi girl. Miss you already.

~Cait

Leave a Comment

