In All Things, Joy

It’s been a strange year with its fair share of sad stories and bad news and overwhelming situations. At times, it’s felt like every place I’d turn, there would be something sad waiting to turn my stomach over in anxiety and fill me with sorrow or disgust. I’ve never had trouble with optimism until the past year or two, and I know that I’m not alone in the struggle to choose joy when the world seems to be morally collapsing around us.

Satan loves to attack, steal, and destroy. God loves to comfort, bless, and redeem.

Today, I simply want to bring good thoughts to your day, because sometimes there just aren’t enough happy thoughts. I want to speak joy and let you know that in all things – God is good. In all things, God is sovereign. In all things, God is faithful. And today, we can choose joy. Not because our lives are perfect or because we can handle this world alone, but because joy comes from confidence in the One who made and sustains us, who protects and provides for us, who loves and cherishes us more than we can possibly imagine. I choose to rest in Him and His joy.

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

 “Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens. Our God is a God who saves.” -Psalm 68:19-20

“Yes, my soul finds rest in God; my hope comes from Him. Truly He is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; He is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in Him at all times, O people. Pour out your hearts to Him, for God is our refuge.” -Psalm 62:5-8

“Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all His benefits – who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion.” -Psalm 103:2-4

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” -Romans 12:9-12

“Surely the arm of the Lord is not too short to save, nor His ear too dull to hear.” -Isaiah 59:1

“The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know your name trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.” -Psalm 9:9-10

“Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” -Nehemiah 8:10

I’m praying you find joy today in the middle of whatever you’re going through, and I pray God overflows your lives with peace and blessings. And pizza. ;) Love you all so much!

~Cait

Leave a Comment

