Slow Down

The older I get, the more I find myself wishing time would slow down. Growing up, I was often wishing it would speed up. I want to be out of high school. I want to be married. I want to hurry up and be on vacation. Even now, I catch myself longing for future things, and it’s a struggle to truly live in and enjoy the present.

Yesterday, we stopped wishing for future things and longed to spend a few more minutes in the past as we celebrated this sweet man who went to be with the Lord last week.

gpa01

gpa03

Andrew’s grandpa was one of the first people to really make me feel like a part of the family when Andrew and I started dating. He always asked, “Where’s my Caitlin?” when we would come to visit, and he gave the best bear hugs ever. He loved his children and grandchildren fiercely. On one of our last hospital visits before he passed away, he grabbed my hand and kissed it. Such a gentleman. :) We spent this weekend sharing stories, loving on Grandma, and celebrating Grandpa’s life and legacy. His passing has challenged us to enjoy every moment God gives us. We are so thankful that Grandpa is in Heaven, probably playing golf and asking where the nearest Chelino’s is. ;)

Send up some prayers for Andrew’s family the next few days and weeks, especially for his sweet Grandma.

gpa02

“Therefore we are always confident and know that as long as we are at home in the body, we are away from the Lord. For we live by faith, not by sight. We are confident, I say, and would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord.” -2 Corinthians 5:6-8

Hug your loved ones a little tighter this week, and soak up even the slow days. :)

~Cait

Leave a Comment

